U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Miami
 [Register]
Miami Miami-Dade County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-03-2012, 12:22 PM

10 posts, read 9,964 times
Default Best place to raise a multicultural family in Miami

I am a white American originally from NYC, but I lived in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic for 8 years and was my two kids have a Dominican father. I speak Spanish well. My current husband is from India (we met in Santo Domingo…long story). I am a graphic designer who works with clients in the US and Latin America. My husband has a business importing and selling human hair extensions from India (Hispanics are a huge market).

For all the reasons above, we are very interested in relocating to the Miami/South Florida area. Right we live in North Florida and I miss speaking Spanish and all the other cultural attributes of a Latin country. I've been trying to learn more about the best areas to live with kids but the posts seemed to be skewed toward people that are looking for white neighborhoods or don't speak Spanish, neither of which are issues for us.

I want a safe, affordable area, good for kids, and accepting of a multicultural/bi-racial family. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-03-2012, 12:47 PM

6,242 posts, read 4,024,969 times
Opa Locka, Liberty City, Little Haiti, Miami Gardens, Overtown; these are great areas for you to reside in and really embrace the mulitcultural feel that Miami has to offer.

Old 01-03-2012, 03:03 PM