U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Miami
 [Register]
Miami Miami-Dade County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 08-13-2008, 12:11 AM

93 posts, read 89,087 times
Default Relations Between Blacks and Latinos in South Florida

Hello, I live in Orlando and I'm fairly new to Florida and I had some questions about the racial situation Down here. A kid I recently met told me that Black and Latinos don't get along to well in Miami. Especially Cubans. I'm from up north (Philly-NJ) and Blacks and Puerto Ricans get along fairly well. What is the extent of Black-Latino relations? How well do Blacks get along with non White Hispanics (Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, etc.)? How does South Florida differ from central Florida in this regard?

Thanks in advance,

Philly Stress

Last edited by Philly Stress; 08-13-2008 at 01:32 AM..

Old 08-13-2008, 12:54 AM

463 posts, read 829,943 times
Im glad you bought this up. well; let me just say (im tri-racial) having just moved from south florida 2 weeks ago and having lived in the Miami latino communities (miami/kendall/little havana area) I will tell you like this:

For one; the black and latino community is very segregated ok. you have (north) Miami gardens;Opa-locka; and the Liberty areas. those are the mostly black areas.

Then you have (south) Kendall,Lil havana, and Gables which is the mostly latin areas.

And there you go. As far as "get along" I will say I have had mostly latino best friends and the areas I lived in usually had a considerable latino population.