U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-31-2011, 04:04 PM

5 posts, read 7,043 times
Default Joining the Military

I turned 23 years old recently and not exactly sure what to do with my life. I am single with no children nor do I plan on having kids. I have an Associate's Degree at my local community college and my plan has always been to go back to a University and finish getting my B.sc and then pursue graduate school. I've had quite a bit of drawbacks and a lot of procrastinating. I still live with my parents, in a pretty overprotective household. I've only had one job (very short-lived) through the school but other than that I have no real work experience. I've been thinking about joining the Air Force (ideally), Navy or Coast Guard to attain a steady job where I don't need some lengthy resume, and to finish up my schooling(which is still and always will be a first priority). I feel like it would be the perfect option since there would be no way I could pay for school this up coming semester nor do I want my father to co-sign on a loan for me (and he may not even be eligible since he's co-signed on several of my sister's loans).