U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-24-2013, 01:47 PM

16,026 posts, read 17,916,731 times

Advertisements

My son is a disabled vet who according to the VA is unable to handle his own finances. For the past decade I have been managing his finances and submitting an annual report. Suddenly this year my accounting was rejected not once but three times. According to them I can not account for the money I took out of his account and handed him as spending money. This money was allocated in his budget and I have been doing it the same way since 2004.

I called the "Fiduciary Hub" in Salt Lake City attempting to find out how to accomplish hand my son $20 and how to resolve last years accounting. Their answers were to call me a thief and tell me it was my problem.
Apparently these fiduciary hubs are contracted to remove family members as payees and then confiscate the estates they have built up over the years.

I have contacted my Congressman, who has not responded as yet and will file an appeal to his incompetence ruling in an attempt to stop these vultures but it will be a struggle. Has anyone else had a similar experience?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-24-2013, 02:48 PM

18,857 posts, read 26,322,561 times
So, you are complaining that the VA, is trying too hard to look after the interests of your son who is disabled? The Payees are not vultures. They are providing appropriate oversight on your son's finances, as he is too disabled to may these decisions on his own.