U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-12-2017, 12:00 PM

5 posts, read 2,180 times

Advertisements

I'm female and currently finishing up sophomore year of college. I enjoy accounting and I have a pretty decent gpa, but I've always had the strong desire to enlist ever since I graduated from h.s.

My mind is pretty set on joining the military soon-probably this summer (have to lose 9 pounds first!) but I was just wondering what the consequences of joining halfway through college are.

I'm still deciding between the Air force or the Navy.

Which path would you guys recommend me to take?

Does the military allow you to defer student loans, including Parent PLUS loans that my dad took out, after enlisting?
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-12-2017, 12:48 PM

8,818 posts, read 13,908,128 times
Do you mean you want to drop out of college and enlist? Why don't you join ROTC and get a commission when you graduate?

Old 03-12-2017, 03:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe from dayton View Post
Do you mean you want to drop out of college and enlist? Why don't you join ROTC and get a commission when you graduate?
My university allows enlisted college students to withdraw for up to 5 years without having to reapply back to the program they were in. So I thought why not join now as an E-3 with 58 credit hours done?

Old 03-12-2017, 03:54 PM

4,669 posts, read 5,263,047 times
Graduate first. Take ROTC if you want to go into service directly. Or graduate and go into the reserves

Stay in college and get your accounting degree