U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-31-2017, 11:31 PM

24 posts, read 3,166 times

Advertisements

Hello all,
Firstly I want to clarify I'm using a throwaway account as I'm too ashamed of my situation. I lose sleep every night trying to figure out where my life is heading.
Back in 2014 I graduated high school with an excellent GPA but entered college with no clue what to major in. As sad as it may sound, I've switched majors three times since then. It's as if I enter temporary phases of interest in certain areas and then later I think to myself "wait..what am I trying to do with this degree?".

I'm 22 now. I have about 55 college credits and, here's part of my shame, I have about a 2.6 GPA. Simply put, I don't put the effort in classes and roam the college feeling like I'm wasting time. Also want to point out that money for classes is not an issue. I'm in a CC working on an associates for Environmental Science. For a bachelor's I'd probably be here for another year and a half and then transfer for the rest.

I also have multiple friends who've learned that they dislike their majors but are in too deep to switch..I understand this may be normal but it just makes me more against continuing my education for now. Today I also dropped my second class of my college career and it feels awful. I didn't want to finish the semester having a class that was going to further damage my GPA. Im still finishing up two other classes where i am doing well, however.