U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-29-2018, 11:58 PM

1 posts, read 410 times

Advertisements

Hi I'm Stefani and I'm new to this whole military thing. My boyfriend left for boot camp about 2 weeks ago and I'm really struggling. It has been extremely hard for me and I need help getting through this. My boyfriend is my best friend who helps me through everything and without him here I've lost that support system. I don't really have anyone to lean on so without him here it is very difficult to make it through the day without shedding a tear. I know the best way to get through it is to stay busy but it's difficult for me since my job refuses to give me more hours. What is the best way I can get through this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-30-2018, 07:36 AM

8,846 posts, read 7,319,706 times
There are networks of military spouses you can turn to for support. What branch of the military did he join?

Old 09-30-2018, 07:37 AM

9,339 posts, read 15,751,927 times
If you are that dependent on someone you need to see a therapist so you can learn some coping skills.

Old 09-30-2018, 07:39 AM

8,846 posts, read 7,319,706 times
Type in a search for military spouse support and you’ll find plenty to choose from. If you move with him to his first duty station outside of boot camp then you’ll have access to personal connections with other spouses for support.

Old 09-30-2018, 07:46 AM

4,050 posts, read 1,700,450 times