U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Military Life and Issues
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-13-2010, 01:12 PM

19 posts, read 104,619 times

Advertisements

I am a soon to be militray wife. My husband just joined the Army and will be leaving for Basic next month and then DLI after that. I plan to move with him once he gets to CA. I was wondering what you do for careers and what careers you find to be most portable. I have a Bachelors degree in social work and am currently in a MSW program, however, I'm not sure this degree will be that portable or lucrative enough to support us. I have also been thinking about speech language pathology or nursing. I have taken some SLP courses but it would still take me 3 years to complete. Same thing for nursing, I would need to do about 1 yr of prereqs and then apply to an accelerated BSN program. I am 26 and have no children. Any advice on career opportunities in these 3 fields as an army wife would be greatly appreciated!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-13-2010, 01:53 PM

2,212 posts, read 4,493,155 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by beachy9 View Post