U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota > Minneapolis - St. Paul
 [Register]
Minneapolis - St. Paul Twin Cities
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-22-2014, 12:03 PM

40 posts, read 32,017 times

Advertisements

I'm an engineer working full time in Chanhassen and my company offers some tuition reimbursement that I can now take advantage of. I'm enrolling in a single graduate class this fall at the U, and so wanted to figure out the options for parking. I will be coming from work to the class 2 days a week from Chanhassen which meets at 2:30. So I figured that my options are:

Park in a ramp close to my class: This is convenient but I don't want to do this because since they are hourly rates it will get expensive.

Park in one of the computer lots (lot 37 preferably): this options would be OK as it is only $4 daily, only disadvantage here is a walk to my class or biking if I bring one on my car.

Park on the street in a nearby neighborhood and bike to class: this option would mean I need to bring my bike as a walk would take way too long. I would Park on the street where allowed and bike to class in 5 minutes or so. Obviously this option costs no money.

So what do you think? How long will it generally take me to find a parking spot, are the commuter lots often full? Remember this is around 2:30 in the afternoon and only 2 days a week. Any tips or advice would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-22-2014, 04:23 PM

267 posts, read 470,605 times
Might depend on where on campus the class is located.