U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 07-10-2007, 05:13 AM

13 posts, read 45,360 times
Default moving to MN from Australia

G'day, my wife, two young boys and I are thinking of moving to Minneapolis next year. She is from Brainerd and wants to be closer to her family. We have a few questions that we would appreciate help with.
Firstly I am a carpenter / builder and mostly build new homes. How much construction is there? and what sort of income could I expect?
My wife is a nurse and has a masters in midwifery. The midwifery is not fully recognised in the US but it will enable her to work in a birth suite. So she is wanting to find a hospital that encourages natural birth?
We would also require child care for our two boys. I have heard that it is realy expensive there?
And finaly we would like to rent before buying and are thinking of the North West suburbs so as to be closer to her folks. Any thoughts on family friendly areas?
Thanks for any help
Quick reply to this message

Old 07-10-2007, 05:29 AM

20,804 posts, read 29,203,892 times