U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Minnesota
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 09:14 PM

18 posts, read 22,769 times
Default Relocating to Mn.

Hi, I've been a Michigan resident my whole life, and due to the recent job market in this area am considering moving to Minnesota. I've been out of work for 1/2 the year and the market is looking worse every day. My girl and I are considering moving to Mn. because she has a sister that lives there, plus I'm an avid outdoorsman and love to fish and hunt. Minnesota is the only state I'd actually consider moving to besides Michigan. I work in the trucking/warehouse/material handling field. Anyways, we are looking for an area where we can find work, not too far from the city but not in the city. I would like to live out where I can enjoy my passions of fishing and hunting with plenty of lakes and forests but not too far from the TC area because that is where her sister lives, within 1-1.5 hours would be nice. If you have some ideas of some great friendly areas to live, please comment! Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-09-2010, 09:23 PM

141 posts, read 149,555 times
I would try looking between Saint Cloud and Brainerd. It is a beautiful area with fishing and hunting opportunities and a relative proximity to the Twin Cities as Saint Cloud is an hour away from them. Possible towns in the area would be Milaca, Little Falls, or Pine City. Hopefully you find what you are looking for.

Old 05-09-2010, 09:28 PM