U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Mississippi
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-21-2011, 10:39 PM

1 posts, read 1,841 times

Advertisements

Please help. I am a single mom of 4, 3 of which are still in my home and in high school. I have been homeschooling my children for the past two years now. I have never had a problem till recently. I am great about keeping records of all their work and tests and transcripts.

A few months back, I had a call from a DHS worker claiming child neglect on me. She never even came to my house but did talk to me over the phone. I offered to show her all that I had. She informed me that she was going to close the alligations as unfounded. A month later, I got a letter in the mail telling me to appear in court. I got the letter on a Saturday and had to be in court the following Monday at 9:00 am. No time to find out what is going on. Then they informed me that they were opening a case against me for child neglect just because I chose to homeschool my children last year. Then they also court ordered me to enroll my children in public school this year. Is this legal and what can I do about it to protect my children?

Please any info will help.

Athena
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-22-2011, 11:12 AM

2,790 posts, read 3,876,460 times