U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Mississippi
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-03-2008, 11:22 PM

3 posts, read 9,491 times

Advertisements

I'm in my early thirties and looking for a change of pace from northern Virginia. I grew up in southern Virginia and have spent a good amount of time throughout the south. At the moment I work as a consultant (independent) with a six figure income.

I have read a few posts on here about Oxford, but I have a few questions that remain to be answered. First, where is the nearest commercial airport? Second, will a $150k to $200k income allow for a home in the area? I've read several threads that allude to the high cost of real estate. Third, how is the dating and social scene for an early thirties male? Fourth, is there ample duck hunting and fishing within an hour drive? Fifth, is the area conservative? I am conservative by nature and fit best in areas that tend to be conservative.

Thank you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-04-2008, 09:51 AM

79 posts, read 271,122 times
I am in my thirties, and a virginia native who lived in Oxford for 3 years and LOVED it.
First - there is a small airport in Oxford. The nearest commercial airport is one hour north in Memphis. There is also an airport in Jackson - 2 hours south.
Second - you should be just fine on that income. In fact, you will be making more than most. The cost of housing is high in relation to the rest of Mississippi - not U.S., and if you decide to live about 5 - 10 minutes outside of town you can get a killer deal.