U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Mississippi
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-21-2007, 08:06 PM

2 posts, read 22,901 times

Advertisements

My family and I live in detroit,MI and My wife is being offered a position canton,MS... I have no clue as to what MS is like or if it is a good place for us to relocate...I have issues because the possible impending culture shock from city to country...etc....also we have 3 kids and i am not to fond of the possible move but $$$ talks...I am a teacher so i should have no problem finding a job but what are the public school systems like???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-22-2007, 05:14 PM

1,350 posts, read 3,614,144 times
Sorry you haven't gotten any info yet. Canton area anyone?? I only know broad generic info, but if you are coming from Detroit to Canton--is it for the Nissan plant? You would have a choice of areas to live including Madison and Brandon, Jackson suburbs, that I have heard good things about. You will have some culture shock but others, including myself, have survived it. I came from Philadelphia. I think there is every chance you will enjoy the warm winters, the friendly people, and the affordable housing. You can find most anything you want in the Jackson area and though crime would be a concern in the city itself, there are good places around. I imagine the same is true of Detroit??

Old 01-22-2007, 05:27 PM

22 posts, read 143,949 times
Madison and Ridgeland would be a better choice I think. The commute from Brandon might get old. I live in Ridgeland. I moved here from Flowood and I love it.