U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Mississippi
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 07:12 AM

82 posts, read 208,286 times

Advertisements

I'm in the process of applying to the law school at Ole Miss. Been researching Oxford online and so far I really like what I see. I'm an older student (41) and will be moving to the area (assuming I'm accepted) alone. The community is really important to me as I will probably end up staying in the area after I complete school so I have some questions.

I want to stay away from apt complexes and wonder what is the availability of rental condos/homes? I've seen prices from $600-$1500/month. What is the average? Should I look for housing in Oxford or outlying areas?

Oxford seems pretty safe, but how safe is the area?

What social opportunities are avaialble for my age range? I'm not into the bar scene.

For the past 11 years I've lived near West Palm Beach, FL and am originally from the northeast. I've always lived in a metropolitan area with lots of shops and restaurants. What is Oxford like in regard to shopping, eating, bars, etc?

I'm hoping to get to Oxford before the end of the year to check everything out for myself, but any information would be really helpful. Hopefully my questions aren't too generic.

Thanks so much for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-04-2009, 08:48 AM

783 posts, read 1,936,454 times
I can't imagine a place any "safer" than Oxford. By the same token, I can't imagine a place more boring.