U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alabama > Mobile area
 [Register]
Mobile area Mobile County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-21-2010, 12:51 PM

6 posts, read 42,653 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to Mobile, having fun exploring this unique city, but I am wondering what the "bad" areas are that I might want to avoid. I go out during the day with just my kids and I'm finding it hard to tell what's what--lots of diversity! I'm thinking it may be kinda like Bham, where there are places that are okay during the day but you wouldn't want to be there at night...?

Bel Air Mall/Airport Blvd?
Midtown/the Loop?
Govt St?
Tillman's Corner?

The couple of ppl I have asked so far are like, oh, it's fine...to everywhere I mention. Surely there are some neighborhoods that are sketchy for a woman alone w/kids or at night. So if anyone could give me an honest opinion before I find out the hard way I would appreciate it! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-21-2010, 02:35 PM

2,308 posts, read 3,063,547 times
I will say that I`ve driven in some of the( suppose to be dangerous areas of Mobile) and I have` never had any traumatic experinces night or day.