U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Montana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-14-2013, 11:42 PM

1 posts, read 1,700 times

Advertisements

I have been in Great Falls the last few weeks and will drive back to Seattle in a 2WD Honda Civic this coming Fri, Dec 20. It looks like the forecast from now until Dec 20 is for maybe a couple scattered snow showers along the route but no major storms. If I stick to I-15 and I-90, will I be OK with non-snow tires and a set of chains or should I get snow tires specifically for this drive? I am a cautious driver and have experience driving in snow in cities, but not over long distances or mountain passes (I drove here in Nov when the passes were mostly dry). Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-15-2013, 05:40 AM

18,856 posts, read 31,596,438 times
Should be okay, if you don't start out too early, let snow, slush get taken care of by plows, let ice melt off a bit by other drivers, stop before dark. That is the key, do not drive when it is icy. This time of year, best to not plan on driving 12-14 hours a day. Drive, 6-7 hours a day.

Have a small shovel in your car, some ice melt. And usual supplies, warm blanket.

Last edited by jasper12; 12-15-2013 at 05:41 AM.. Reason: Edit

Old 12-15-2013, 01:39 PM

4,638 posts, read 3,958,997 times
Traveler Information - Roadway Cameras