U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Montana
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-06-2008, 09:22 AM

4 posts, read 17,139 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I currently live in Dayton, Ohio and I'm planning on moving to Los Angeles for work. I'm a freelance 3D digital artist mod cut. There's not enough work for me where I'm currently at. On my way, I want/need to take about a three month break to hone my skills and work on some new ideas. I want to go somewhere I've never been that's very different than where I'm at and where I'm going.

So I'm looking for somewhere in Montana that would suit me for this break. I don't know much about the state except for a little research I've done. I'm basically looking for a small-town environment, some place well-kept and clean, friendly people, and great scenery and hiking (I don't fish or hunt). Like kind a "one road" kind of place that has a diner, a movie theater, a coffee shop, etc (and an internet connection). And of course a city where I can rent a room of a house or a small apartment. It seems like these kind of places don't really exist because they get left behind and lose their quaintness and don't stay well-kept. I'm open to something small to medium sized. I'm not looking for the size of like a Great Falls or Missoula however. Helena seemed nice, but that might even be too large. I was looking at really small places like Winifred but a place like that might be too small. I was hoping someone on here may live in or have visited this kind of ideal place.