U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-01-2012, 09:07 PM

128 posts, read 157,552 times

Advertisements

I had multiple student loans from undergrad and professional school. This was back when banks were in the student loan business, and every school I attended (I was an adult student who had to relocate & transfer a few times) used different lenders. So, I ended up with a billion individual student loans. Altogether, my student loan debt was close to $175K. These loans accounted for the vast majority of my debt, with the remainder of my debt being medical/health related.

The loans have been discharged/forgiven due to permanent disability and the Dept. of Education has notified the credit bureaus. I could wait a couple of months to see how my credit score is going to be affected, but the suspense is killing me. So, I'm asking those who know...

From my research I know that the credit bureaus are going to change the status of the loans to "Paid as Agreed" on my reports, but I'm really curious to know how many points can I expect my credit score to raise with $175K in debt, from multiple loans, gone from my credit record?

I've read on this mortgage forum that paying off ONE debt would raise a person's credit score as much as 25-30 points, so I'm really curious to know how many points I could reasonably gain in my score since multiple individual loans were paid off (for all the credit bureaus know, b/c all I think they're told is that the debts were paid).