U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-28-2013, 06:15 AM

1,303 posts, read 2,603,698 times

Advertisements

My family owns an out-of-town , rundown home that we are having some real challenges selling. Because of the distance involved, we have opted to sharply discount the price rather than try to fix the property up ourselves. We are selling the property "as-is". The only real potential buyer that has shown any strong interest in purchasing it has been asking us to hold a private mortgage for them. I am a complete novice with this and would greatly appreciate any advice as to whether this is a good idea for us to hold this mortgage, especially steps we might need to take to avoid a financial nightmare. Thank you, in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-28-2013, 06:30 AM

3,757 posts, read 2,910,037 times
I can't think of anything good with this situation. If they can't get a mortgage, theres a reason.

Old 07-28-2013, 07:09 AM

I believe that this is a situation where they want to repair and flip the home. My assumption is that they feel that they could save money over going through the banks.

Old 07-28-2013, 08:26 AM

14,312 posts, read 17,519,551 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnivalday View Post
I can't think of anything good with this situation. If they can't get a mortgage, there's a reason.
THIS ^^^^^^^^^^^