U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-05-2013, 09:56 PM

4 posts, read 10,700 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone.

I'm in the process of purchasing a home, 30 year conventional.

417k loan

My GFE shows a loan origination charge of 450 in August

My new GFE shows a loan origination charge for 2,500 in October. I got it a few days ago.

Well know major bank.

I'm new to this. Why is there an increase? My rate lock ended in September and they extended it for me. They extended it because they the bank was not finished on their end. Is it due to this?

Thank you

Last edited by BillK2525; 10-05-2013 at 10:02 PM.. Reason: Oops sorry I typed it wrong
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-06-2013, 08:24 AM

7,598 posts, read 17,618,792 times
Only with a change of circumstance can they increase the origination fee. Float to lock and relock are a change of circumstance. It sounds like when they relocked you, they did so at a higher fee. As long as they notified you within 72 hours of the relock, it's within guidelines.

Was it the bank that wasn't ready or the builder?

Old 10-06-2013, 10:08 AM

Hello smart money. I understand. Our bank wasn't ready. Its a house that has already been built. All along I kept hearing from our broker were going to get a jumbo loan at 450k, but underwriting felt I wasn't at my job long enough to get the jumbo (althought I fit all of the jumbo requirements; been at my job over 2 years). So, we hear of this as our rate lock was about to expire, and will put more money down. We are putting 35 percent down.