U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-01-2015, 09:42 AM
J24 J24 started this thread

448 posts, read 654,165 times

Advertisements

I've never purchased a house or had a mortgage, only rented, so I'm really new to the whole thing. My question is... what income level would you feel comfortable having if you were buying a $300k house? There would probably only be ~10% put down, maybe slightly less. I don't even know what kind of a monthly payment a mortgage of that size would be.
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-01-2015, 10:24 AM

8,011 posts, read 22,499,039 times
Well if you are putting $30k down on a $300k house, your mortgage would be $270k. That is 2.5x $108k. So if you wanted to buy no more than 2.5x your annual salary, which is a common standard, you would want to be making no less than $108k. gross. Another common standard is 3x, which would be $90k gross annual income.

If you have debt you are making payments on (credit cards, car, student loans, etc), you'll probably want more cushion.