U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-11-2015, 02:01 PM

10,403 posts, read 7,478,326 times

Advertisements

We moved from out of state for my job. We found a house we liked before we moved and a family member checked it out. We made an offer and it was accepted pending inspection. So my other half is a contractor and did the walk-through/inspection as soon as we arrived. I'm a vet so we're going VA through USAA, after shopping around for the best rate. My guy is a whiz with numbers so I defer to him. He found some issues that really need to be taken care of to make it livable. (septic tank replacement, roof, etc) Since they didn't sell "as-is" they negotiated an amount they would reimburse us for those repairs. The sellers insisted on closing on or before the 10th which (at the time) was over a month away. USAA had the closing date as the 3rd but that was okay. So the 10th was yesterday and county offices close here at noon on Friday. The attorney wanted all documents submitted by 1pm Thursday so he could organize, do the HUD stuff - whatever he does. Suddenly USAA finds problems with the numbers.... not to mention they continued to ask me for documents and receipts up to the 11th hour. The attorney closes up at 4pm. They managed to get him the documents at 7:30pm Friday night. He came in on Saturday - today to organize and get ready for a Monday closing, requiring us to find yet another place to stay another 3 days - already got a month in one motel with 3 pets. Now we're in another motel awaiting Monday. Got a ca