U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Mortgages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 09:00 AM

1,044 posts, read 3,524,887 times

Advertisements

Howdy,

Until recently I was a full time student, now myself and wife have better jobs making $100,000 per year, we have a $3000 car note (keeping to rebuilding credit score), other than the car we have no debt, no credit cards, no mortgage, nothing.

Problem, due to 1 late payment a previous credit card went to 30% interest, in a stupidly stubborn move on my part I refused to pay that 30%, yes stupid. Went to collections and paid off less than owed (interest charges that were added). So my credit score is in the 500's now.

We live in a double wide on 8 acres (paid for) which is getting smaller by the day (1260 sqft) and we also own 26 acres (paid for) and another lot in a subdivision (paid for).

What we would like to have is a house in the 1800-2500 sqft range, that is paid for, but unless we can sell some of our land (no luck on that) we need to get a loan. Unfortunately a low fico score trumps, $100k income and $300k of paid for property.

Options? Wait for eventual better credit score, get a private loan in the meantime until score improves and refi later? Buy existing or build on land that we can't sell anyway?

Thoughts and opinions? We would really like to be in a larger place and finally unpack, we had moved from a 3000 sqft place into our current 1260 sqft while going to school and cutting expenses. I can't go back in time and fix the credit card issue, so what do I do now?

Thanks

Tony in TN