U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee > Nashville
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-17-2012, 12:18 PM

3 posts, read 6,923 times

Advertisements

I'm a new professor at MTSU and have been renting in Murfreesboro this year. I'd like to be closer to Nashville and don't mind a 30-45 minute commute. I'd like to find an area where the homes are on large lots, at least 1/2 acre with privacy from neighbors. (Not a cookie cutter neighborhood with postage stamp sized yards.) An older home that needs some renovation would be okay. From reading through some of the threads, many of the areas between Nashville and Murfreesboro which are off 24 seem not to be safe. As a single female, safety is important to me but I would like to find something for $200k or less. Can you suggest specific zip codes or areas that I should look at, and tell me which ones I should avoid? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-17-2012, 02:43 PM

6,446 posts, read 11,122,766 times
Well, to be honest, if you eliminate the areas along I-24 between Murfreesboro and Nashville, it will be hard to satisfy being closer to Nashville, being within 30-45 minutes of MTSU, and having at least half an acre for under $200,000.