U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Nature
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-21-2018, 08:10 AM

7,843 posts, read 11,201,895 times

Advertisements

Ok so nothing really to report because its not up yet but I'm excited. Unfortunately I'm not very good at setting things like that up so...not sure how that is going to go.

And honestly I live in an area of the normal wildlife suspects, nothing too cool. Opossums, groundhogs, racoons, squirrels, chipmunks and deer. There used to be turkey eating the wildbird food once in awhile but I haven't seen any since I moved back. I did hear coyotes waaay off in the distance once.

BUT - the reason i bought the trail cam is I've been hearing a fox every couple of weeks and that's what I'm hoping to eventually catch. Not sure how close he comes though etc. so really this is hit or miss. I love hearing him/her. So exciting.

Its a Mountrie M-888 if anyone has any experience tips.
Quick reply to this message

Old 10-21-2018, 09:49 AM

5,977 posts, read 11,170,863 times
I have five cameras out now. One is a Moultrie but I don't remember the model. Please feel free to ask if you need specific help.

I suggest facing it north if possible. That will eliminate the glare from sun. There might be a sensitivity setting. If you get a lot of photos of moving leaves or grass you can drop the level and still get the birds and animals. Enjoy!

Old 10-21-2018, 10:20 AM

4,187 posts, read 2,125,302 times