U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nebraska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-05-2011, 05:26 PM

10 posts, read 20,807 times

Advertisements

Hello,

My family and I are strongly considering moving in June. We currently live in Missouri and there is nothing here. No jobs, no variety in recreation, just nothing. Quality of life stinks here.

I work as a copywriter online, freelance, so I always have work no matter where we live, however my husband has been out of work for over a year now, since the company he worked for downsized. He has been steady pounding for the pavement trying to find another job since he was let go, but with no luck.

Anyway, we have been researching the economy in different areas of the nation and attempting to gather information on areas with low UE rates. We know that there can be several reasons for a low UE rate and that it doesn't always necessarily mean that jobs are abundant. We also want to know about recreation and other things necessary for a decent life within certain areas.

Lately we have been researching Grand Island, NE. We see that it has a low UE rate. We have also read about the city on its official website and from other sources. We have learned that supposedly, jobs have increased 2% already and that there is an expected job growth of around 41% in the future. I want to know from locals to the area, how accurate is this information?

My husband would be looking for any sort of blue collar- factory, manufacturing and/or welding sort of job. How many of those types of jobs are there usually available in that area?