Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nebraska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-23-2007, 02:08 PM

559 posts, read 2,112,171 times

Advertisements

DH and I are celebrating my 50th birthday the week of July 4 this year and are trying to think of where to celebrate. We have decided that we want to spend time in a place it might be nice to retire to. My DH is a retired Seattle firefighter (though he currently works in a lumberyard since retirement), and I am a retired x-ray tech (though I currently work for our local hospital as a certified medical transcriptionist). He is from the Pacific NW, and I grew up in the South. His father and grown children are in the NW; my family is all in the South. We were thinking about maybe moving towards the middle of the country because he hates the South, and I am weary of the rain in the Pacific NW.

The question now becomes where do we look? I figured I would go right to the folks who know Nebraska best to ask them. Do Nebraskans welcome folks from other places? Is it hard or easy to make friends? Up here, everybody just stays home, and everybody calls before they visit anyone. In the South, you just show up at someone's door, and if they're busy or going somewhere they tell you--charmingly--and you just go on about your business. If they're not busy, you are invited in and offered a glass of sweet iced tea and everyone chats for a while. (That's what I miss most about the South; folks coming to see you.)