U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-30-2010, 04:59 AM

1 posts, read 1,847 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am a writer from England and I'm currently writing a short story about a couple whose car breaks down somewhere on the 360 (so somewhere between Tonopah and Hawthorne areas).
Being from England I have no idea about breakdown recovery in Nevada - who would they call? It's their own car, they're from Henderson travelling from Tahoe - who would they call for breakdown recovery?

(Obviously, for the dramatic point of the story, there's no signal on their phone, but they at least need to try!)

Thanks for any advice, I really appreciate it!

Sparklybeck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-30-2010, 12:00 PM

3,680 posts, read 13,138,814 times
Highway 95 is the highway between Tonopah and Hawthorne. There is a highway 361 that branches off 95 towards Gabbs.

Cell phone service is probably spotty in this area of the desert.

Old 07-30-2010, 12:02 PM

514 posts, read 519,442 times
Probably Triple A, if not them, any tow service in either Hawthorne or Tonopah. I don't know about route 360, Driving from Tahoe to Henderson they would probably take 50 to 395 to 208 to Alt 95, to 95. Or 50 to 395, then through Death Valley to Pahrump hence to Vegas.

traveling in Nevada, smart drivers carry SPOT, , findmespot.com

Old 08-06-2010, 01:42 AM

53 posts, read 275,755 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparklybeck View Post
Hi,