U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Nevada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-23-2014, 02:52 AM

7 posts, read 5,055 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am a California resident living over in China, I have lived here for about 8 years. My drivers license (now expired) is using my sisters house address in California and I receive some mail there. I do not own any property in California or any vehicles.
I do however own a house here in China. I am planning to sell the house here in China and move back to Colorado.
However in order to minimize capital gains tax from the state of California when I sell my house here in China I was planning that when I move back to USA to move to Nevada and become a resident there before I sell the house here in China. What is required for me to become a resident of Nevada and how long does it take? Once I have my Nevada residency then I will sell my house in China, would it be ok to just move off to Colorado right away and buy a house there and ultimately become a resident of Colorado? Would this work and is this legal?

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-24-2014, 06:53 PM

523 posts, read 586,335 times
google ca residency
read pb 1031

[My drivers license (now expired) is using my sisters house address in California and I receive some mail there. I do not own any property in California or any vehicles.]
Was a BAD idea which proves you INTEND to use CA as your address.

Ask whoever mail you mail directly to China.

You need to find out how long you have no ties with CA and "Domicile" in China?