U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Hampshire
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-26-2012, 12:29 PM

7 posts, read 8,460 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

We are preparing to move to the seacoast NH/ southern ME area. I could really use some advice on choosing a town! My husband is working in Stratham, NH. He works 3 days in the office and 2 days from home. So, we are willing to live within an hour or an hour and a half radius of Stratham. I am home with our three children whom I homeschool. I'd like to find a small town with a community-vibe, more rural, but with its own stuff going on. (I also work part-time as a homebirth midwife but I can do that anywhere.)

We used to live just outside Belfast, ME which I miss terribly. It is just such a wonderful small community- vibrant and connected. There are a lot of "small town" activities there; like contra-dancing, a community dance studio, community theater, small YMCA, a wonderful little co-op with a busy- yet homey- cafe, local bookstore, local toy store, The Green Store, etc, all in a quintissential tiny New England town of about 6,000 people. I'd love to find a place just like that closer to Portsmouth.

What I DON'T want: I don't want to live in suburbia. I'm not focused on the schools since we homeschool. I don't want a big mortgage. I don't want lots of traffic.