Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Hampshire
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-23-2012, 07:29 AM

5 posts, read 11,920 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,

I need your help! I am a young professional (28 y/o) and have lived in Jacksonville, Florida, for most of my life. While I enjoy the climate, this is not my scene at all and I need to get out while I still can.

Next Fall, I will be done with my graduate program and will have worked for almost four years at a good entry-mid level job as a communications manager for a local academic hospital. For the last courses for my graduate program, I will be participating in a graduate study abroad program in Thailand.

After I return from the program (around October 2013), I would like to relocate to another part of the country. My father had a job transfer to Hartford, and my extended family lives in NYC, so I thought New England might be a good choice as a region that would be closer to family for holidays and occassional get togethers.

I'd be interested in hearing your experiences with New England cities and how they compare and contrast with one another, as well as how easy to you think it would be for a young professional to integrate into the community. I may move alone or my long-term bf may move with me -- TBD -- we will sort those details out later.