U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Hampshire
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-13-2013, 03:11 PM

22 posts, read 66,860 times

Advertisements

I'm relatively new to the state having moved here in the Fall. My car, which is 2010, failed inspection at a local auto dealer. New wipers, license plate light and all the tires had dry rot, so they say (we replaced the tires in the summer). It seems a bit fishy that the only place that offers inspections are places that fix cars. I mean, if it's a scam, it's almost ridiculously obvious.

I risk getting a ticket not getting an inspection - so the cops have the mechanics' backs.

Any referrals for ethical inspection stations? I'm on the seacoast. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-13-2013, 04:32 PM

4,705 posts, read 4,819,572 times
You have to learn how to do this properly.

There are two parts to an inspection for cars newer then 1996 or therabouts. OBDII.

Find yourself a good honest independent local mechanic.
If you don't know one then ask around.
Once you have a good honest local independent mechanic then most of your issues are solved.

If you do not have any access to a good independent mechanic shop then:

PAY for an inspection without providing your vehicle registration. Just pay for a mechanical inspection.
Most will find this odd that you want to keep your registration in your posession. Just hold onto it. Do not give your registration paper to anyone until you know that the car will pass inspection.