U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 07:29 PM

4 posts, read 8,054 times

Advertisements

Hi: I'm brand new to this, so I hope you are kind and helpful. I am writing for help on 2 issues, but all related to landlord vs. tenant rights.

1-I am a tenant living in a apartment building with about 8 units. The landlord does not live here. I have been here for 10 years. My current landlord took over 5 years ago and has basically thru harrassment and/or raising the rent thru rental increases has been successfully at getting almost all the old tenants out -90% turnover. He has tried it with me, but I have been able to win in court everytime with free legal aid. My landlord and I are adverseries of the worst kind. I have many police reports, housing reports violations against him, fire inspectors violations against him, etc. In addition, to being called the "N" Word along with othe vulagarites by the LL.You get the picture. I am not rich,quiet and a Christian woman. As a matter of fact, I have lost my job thru downsizing and budget cuts. I was a new math teacher in NYC. I am in graduate school trying to improve my life situation. Of course, I want to move, but can not afford to move.