U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 08-26-2011, 07:20 AM

1,494 posts, read 2,962,915 times
Default Breaking a contract

I'm a teacher at a private school and have been offered a teaching job in the public school. They said I have the job PENDING the references. It's been a week now and they still haven't called the references.

The private school is having their contract signing this Tuesday. I'm going to have to sign it since I'm not hearing anything back from the public school.

ONe of the workers at the BOE told me it takes a while for them to call references, but the start of school is just around the corner.

So if I sign the private school contract and then the public schools call me, are there any consequences to breeching the private school? It says I should give 2 weeks notice, but that will not be possible and I would definitely take the public school job in a heartbeat.

Any advice? Can the private school take legal action in NJ even with a letter of resignation that says effective immediately?

So confused
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-26-2011, 09:57 AM

96 posts, read 144,493 times
I look at it this way...the worst case scenario is that you don't show up ont he first day of school at the private school and they fire you. I don't see how they can force you to work there.

Old 08-26-2011, 11:30 AM

4,829 posts, read 3,941,577 times
Can the private school take legal action?
Yes.
Will they?