U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 11-14-2011, 04:56 PM

15 posts, read 13,226 times
Default workers comp question, please help!

I am an EMT with an ambulance company. On August 8th 2011 I lifted a patient, and immediately felt a sharp pain in my lower abdomen and groin region. I went to the emergency room as soon as my shift was over and was relieved to find out I had mild epididymitis, an infection of the epididymus, and not a hernia. I filed out all the paperwork with to have my ER visit covered under worker's compensation, and returned to work the next night knowing there was no reason I could not injure myself worse.

A few weeks later I found out the claim has been rejected because it is not "a workplace injury diagnosis." The insurance company refuses to pay, and after telling them I went to the hospital to rule out a hernia, they simply stated its not their problem, and I am responsible for the bill. I refuse to pay 3000 dollars for an ER visit stemming from work. I had no pain before lifting, but pain and swelling for weeks afterwards.

Anyone have any ideas on what I can do? I went through the workers compensation laws and information on the state website and it seems that they should be paying for this. I'm fairly broke and cannot risk legal fees unless I am positive I have a court case. Any ideas or information would be heavily appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-16-2011, 03:02 AM

19,618 posts, read 13,718,307 times
I would lawyer up.