U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Unread 11-30-2011, 05:59 PM

2 posts, read 1,884 times
Default Boonton Township questions

Hello all,
I am new to this and was curious if someone could help me with this--I am interested in moving to Morris County zoning in on Boonton Township but when I did some research, I found that there are 2 superfund sites on Rockaway Valley Road--does anyone have any insight on this? I am just concerned about air/water quality as I have little ones. It was a total bummer to find those but I am wondering if anyone knows about this/lives nearby as I was not able to find much further info.
Thanx!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 11-30-2011, 07:05 PM

645 posts, read 1,097,454 times
The two "superfund" sites in that area are relatively minor, both are on industrial/commercial properties, and I think one of them was pretty much resolved 20+ years ago. The sites don't have many houses immediately surrounding them, they are on/adjacent to the old ARC/Cessna airfield facility which is now used for sports fields and some commercial/light manufacturing uses. I know a lot of people living in BT, some of them for 30+ years. Most them aren't even aware of these minor issues, let alone care about them. I wouldn't worry about it. BT is probably the one of the least-contaminated townships in northern NJ, in my opinion. You aren't going to find any place that hasn't had some kind of environmental issue in the past on a specific property or two.