U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 09:04 PM

223 posts, read 332,989 times
Default Underground Storage Tank Information

Hi all.

I've been surfing the forums again after a long absence and have seen many posts regarding Underground Storage Tanks (USTs) and their associated problems.

There seems to be a lot of confusion and lack of information regarding the regulations, timeframes, costs, etc. and since I am an environmental consultant in the State of NJ and I remediate USTs.... I figured I'd provide you guys with my knowledge. The following is the basic framework for a simple case, i.e. soil and small-scale ground water contamination.

I hope you find it useful. Sorry it's so long, but I'm trying to be thorough. PM me with any questions and I'll be happy to help you!

Most Important Things
1. Contract with a reputable company that is certified under the Unregulated Heating Oil Tank Program (UHOT) and sends licensed subsurface evaluators to conduct the work.
2. Get all the paperwork related to the UST removal. More details at the end of this monster.
3. If you have a question, ask. Make sure you understand everything, every step of the way.

Funding Sources and Issues

First, tank removal costs are typically always the responsibility of the homeowner. Some tank policies will cover the removal costs but they typically require the installation of another tank or other requirements you may not agree to. So count on the UST removal bill to be yours.