U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-10-2012, 04:40 PM

2 posts, read 13,337 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I have been parking on the streets in Harrison NJ for a few months now and taking the PATH into WTC. Recently got a ticket for "overtime meter parking" even though the meter was paid for the whole day.

I called up the police department and after being redirected a couple of times, finally spoke with the Violations dept that handles these tickets. I explained the situation and the fact that I had paid the meter for sure, but they said they had not heard of any complaints and that they will ask the DPW dept to check out that particular meter and get back to me.

After I called back again in a couple of days, they said that the meter checked out fine and there were no issues reported. I want to plead not guilty and plead my case with the Judge, but one of the personnel that I spoke with said that the judge bases his/her decision on the meter report. I have no problem paying the ticket once, even though it was not my fault at all. But I would like to prevent this from happening again. So I asked them what I can do to prove that I paid the meter if this was to happen again. They didn't have any answer / solution to that. Just said that I have to call them after I get a ticket and they will have someone check out the meter. But obviously, either the report (if someone actually does go out to check out the meter) is incorrect, or the person writing the ticket made a mistake of reading the meter.