Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-30-2014, 07:58 AM

2 posts, read 1,841 times

Advertisements

Hi there,

I'm a fresh uni graduate who is leaving college without debt and a ~30k starting salary job. During school, I wanted to be in the hustle of the city, so I'm living in Manhattan. But I was born in a quiet town, and I'm not really happy in the NYC buzz anymore. I'm also sick of having to split a kitchen/bathroom with others to live within a reasonable price range. Now that I'm done with school, I need to return to a less intense environment.

My work is along the NYC coast of the Hudson, so I'd like to commute from Jersey to New York. I'm trying to identify a town that offers studio housing for around $1,000 monthly (I have a guarantor who will help me with paying housing costs up to 1500). I have no issues commuting ~1.5 hours, and in fact kind of prefer a lengthier commute, whether by train/car/bus (my work has parking).

There are so many little Jersey town, I really don't know where to begin. From a preliminary search, it looked like Nyack, NY had a lot of nice studio apartment offerings, and that the commute would be about correct. But I'm pretty much cool with anywhere, as long as it's safe, feels more neighborhoody, and has the right price. In Japan, I lived happily on what was pretty much a farm, so I'm ok in being in a place that is 'detached from nightlife' or whatever.