U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-15-2017, 09:39 AM

5 posts, read 281 times

Advertisements

Hi There,

Im new to NJ and I am close to receiving an offer from a company up in Hackensack. I currently live in Old Bridge (Texas road/route 9). Does anyone do the drive?

Im anticipating between 1.2-1.7 hours each way. Sound about right? It looks like Turnpike all the way up is best. I would be happy taking a train/bus but I dont believe there is any way to do it.

Cheers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-15-2017, 05:28 PM

4,943 posts, read 10,505,212 times
Outside of commuting hours it looks more like one hour, but first place to look is here, and note options for turning on traffic layers and selectiing time of day and modes, as in yes you could take transit but more like 2 1/2 hrs since you prob go into the city and back out, etc.:

https://www.google.com/maps/dir/Texa...25!3e0!5m1!1e1

Old 06-15-2017, 07:44 PM

1,825 posts, read 1,007,716 times
Ugh. Talk about your commute nightmare. All the pain of dealing with everyone going into the city via both tunnels and the GWB.

You might want to take a sick day one morning and just do the drive and see if it makes you want to ram your car into the guardrail.

Old 06-15-2017, 10:51 PM

STill a commute like that is often less painful than having to squeeze under a river twice a day, and often quicker. And door to door often beats waiting for this that and the other thing. Plus its in America, you don't have to go to new York.

Old Yesterday, 07:33 AM

1,825 posts, read 1,007,716 times