U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-18-2017, 10:18 PM

21 posts, read 5,583 times

Advertisements

Hi, everyone. I have been renting the second floor of the house for 5 years now (Bergen County, NJ). When I moved in, my husband was deployed overseas and came from his deployment when we were already living in the new place for a month. I was a stayed at home mom, so we used my husband's pay stubs. The landlord (woman) needed my husband's signature for the lease, but he wasn't physically present when we moved in. One month later my husband comes back and our relationship goes down the hill, terrible drinking habits and PTSD problems forced me to separate from him (eventually got divorced). She saw his problems and refused to give us a lease, and since then I have been living in her apartment with a month-to-month renting. Here is the problem, I paid the security deposit with my husband's check and she put that money in the bank and put only my husband's name as a tenant. Since my ex-husband lived in this place literally only 3 months out of these 5 years, he obviously isn't tenanted anymore. But she still refused to give me a lease.