U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-13-2019, 05:38 PM

1 posts, read 578 times

Advertisements

I am a CA resident and now visiting NJ.

Just got a ticket for failing to give proper signal. The ticket is $85 and due in 2 weeks, otherwise, need to appear in court. However, I'm leaving next week and cannot wait that long.

I have perfect driving record and just found that my last name was wrong in the ticket.

Can I dispute it (with this obvious error) in court? My main concern is that it affects the driving record.
I just called the court and was given two options
a) show up tomorrow, but the police office is not available, not sure if it helps me
b) mail me a form so that I can return it back to the court.

Any suggestions? Really appreciate it!
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-13-2019, 05:48 PM

2,795 posts, read 927,490 times
How is your last name wrong? If they have everything else right on the ticket, I say pay it. NJ will track you down. I got a ticket here in 1985 which I'd paid but somehow missed the "restore fee" for my driver's license probably because I had long since moved to CA (!) and didn't think the fee was valid any more. Fast forward 30 years and they made me pay $100 fee so I could get my NJ license restored so I could get my PA license!! Silver lining is by the time I got back to NJ, getting my new NJDL was a breeze .

Old 08-13-2019, 07:52 PM

5,485 posts, read 13,476,418 times
I would check to see if anything from NJ transfers back to CA. Many or at least some states don't.