U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-15-2019, 02:49 PM

18 posts, read 23,691 times

Advertisements

My parents and I moved to Tampa from NJ this past July. It was not my choice to come since I didn't have full-time job and had little to no money. I don't like Tampa at all (no offense to those of you do). There was no other family for me to stay with, though my dad said I didn't have to come with them and could gave gone somewhere else if I wanted to (like that was an option). There is little in Tampa that fits my work experience. I'm an editor and copywriter and worked for companies In NYC like publishers, cosmetics firms, and advertising agencies. There are some friends who say I can stay with them if I come back up, but it doesn't seem doable unless I have a job lined up first.

This is not an area I am new to. I grew up there. How do I apply to jobs in NYC/NJ from Florida and emphasize that I am from there, want to move back, have people I can stay with, and cover my expenses.

Has anyone been in this situation? I can't fathom moving back without a job offer, but employers like to go towards local candidates. I was a local, so getting used to a new area is not an issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-15-2019, 08:13 PM

462 posts, read 920,984 times
Hi Vrinda, I was considering moving down to Tampa due to weather and calmer quality of life.. what did you dislike about Tampa?

Old 09-16-2019, 10:53 AM

2,297 posts, read 1,312,689 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonorityGenius View Post