Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-16-2008, 07:41 PM

2 posts, read 14,679 times

Advertisements

I'm a student at the Richard Stockton College of NJ, i have off campus housing about a mile from school. I share the house with my roommate and myself, my roommate owns the house therefore gets use of the driveway. Besides the front of my car scrapes coming out of the driveway anyway.

Its a residential street with a speed limit of 25, no shoulder and no middle dividing line. Am i allowed to park in front of the house on the street? I see no signs saying no street parking, but the neighbor across the street said i would get a ticket if i did. I've been there about a month now with no trouble yet, am i breaking the law?

Any help is appreciated...Thanks You
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-17-2008, 07:01 AM

7,055 posts, read 19,297,475 times
A lot of towns in NJ prohibit street parking overnight. Most of them post such a prohibition on signs located at the municipal limits, and not on every block of every street. See this example from West Hartford, CT:

Look for similar signs at the limits of your town, and call town hall or the police department to ask if they have such an ordinance (you don't have to give your address/name or tell them that you're parking now, just ask if such an ordinance exists).

Old 09-17-2008, 08:48 AM

1,977 posts, read 7,752,805 times