U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 12-30-2008, 06:59 PM

2,059 posts, read 3,265,526 times
Default Job Transfers

Currently, I am living in Columbia, SC and I HATE living here.

My background - I graduated with my MBA In April of 2008, I am still currently looking for positions in sales/management.

My plan is to get an entry level job for around 35,000 - 40,000 (which is decent money in SC) in mngt or sales and save my money. I have a nice car that is paid for and no rent/mortgage because I live with my dad. My goal is to move to Central/Northern NJ to experience NYC in 3 to 4 years, which would mean that I should have some money.

When the time comes for me to move, I am VERY concerned that my future company is going to shrug off my move to Central/Northern NJ.

Basicly, I really just dont know or understand how companies accept or disapprove a person's transfer. In 3-4 years I am moving with or without a job because I will have the money to do so, but of course I would like a good position waiting for me. So I have some questions for everyone!

1. Are job transfers request by employees usually met or disapproved?

2. Should I talk about this with my current boss or contact a person within my company in Central/Northern Jersey. Should I keep my desire to transfer a secret from my current boss?