U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Jersey
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-24-2009, 08:44 PM

9 posts, read 25,439 times

Advertisements

Okay, here's the deal. I'm a professional woman in my late 20's who is currently working in New Brunswick. I recently moved from Bergen County (commute from H-E-.... whoops, I'll watch my tongue) to Plainsboro. While the commute is definitely better than it was, part of me is thinking it can still get better. As it stands, I'm out of the house for 11 hours a day (shortly after 7am to just around 6pm), and with traffic I'm only gaining about 15 minutes on my commute each way from what it was before the move. I only signed a 5 month lease here, allowing myself time to find something better. But before I run out of time and have to decide whether I'm staying for another year, I need to make sure this is the best I can do.

My options should be wide open, right? Young, single, decent paying job... well the hitch is (did you notice the screenname?) I have a 60 lb. dog. Plainsboro is a fantastic place to own a dog!! Thanks to the suggestions from members of this forum, we know of a wide variety of parks, trails, and training facilities around here. I found a great vet that I trust. And I worry that the move will cost us these great recreational options (which will be MUCH more important as the weather warms up... we're only hitting the closest dog park right now, and the training facility I decided on is not a short drive as it is, and actually doesn't get much worse time-wise if I'm further north and use the Turnpike).