U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Mexico
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-19-2011, 05:19 AM

3 posts, read 5,171 times

Advertisements

Hello everybody!

I'm an international student who has been in the US for 1 year. During this year I have attended a community college in Southern California, which was quite expensive. Not so much the tuition costs, but the living expenses have been very high for me.

For this reason I am looking to relocate and take the 2nd year of college at a community college located somewhere else.

I have been looking around on the websites of different community colleges (located in smaller cities around the mid-states), and I have seen some colleges that offer full time tuition for international students (non-citizen and non-resident tuition, 12 units) for only 1100-1500 dollars per semester! This seems to me as a very good price, since I paid 3500-4000 dollars per semester in tuition fees at the community college I attended in Southern California.

I have a few criteria for where I want to move - and the price of college tuition is not the most important, as long as it is offset by lower living expenses in the area.

What I'm looking for is a place:
-That is hot much of the year round, with not too much rain
-That is low in humidity (medium humidity is OK too, just not too humid)
-Where living expenses, and preferably also community college tuition fees for international students, are low
-Where there are health food stores, such as a whole foods market, in the area