U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-09-2010, 12:37 AM

4 posts, read 4,720 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent CS grad looking to relocate, been applying for jobs online with no luck. Anyone have some connections or advice to share?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-09-2010, 05:58 AM

11,671 posts, read 21,231,508 times
Yes- you need to do MORE than look online. Use your college's alumni network- anyone in your field working in NYC? Call them! Use your professors- any connections they can hook you up with? Have you tried personally calling companies you dropped your resume with online to follow up? Are you trying to move to the city from somewhere else? Email all your friends & family that you want to move and are looking for any connections in the city (friend's cousin's college roomate's husband may be in your field- you never know). Did you intern somewhere? Does your intern boss/ hr coordinator/ fellow interns have any leads for you?

Getting a job IS a job and you should spend 20-40 hours a week looking for one. At least 50% of that time should be on the phone or face to face (informal interview, informational interview, coffee meetings with other college alumni, etc).