U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > New York City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Unread 06-10-2010, 07:50 PM

6 posts, read 9,896 times
Default shared room less than $1000- Chelsea, Astoria, Hoboken

Hello, everyone.

I am an international student who is looking for a safe and quiet place to live. I am not a social girl. I don'e like night life. I want a quiet and peaceful life. (May I am wrong to come NYC, but I think I will get used to it.)

My maximum budget for living is $900. I know it is tough in NYC, so I choose to share an apartment with someone.

My school is located in 25th street. And I have a part-time job near Federal Plaza. I don't like subway and bus. The best choice is where I can walk to school and job. Ohhhh, don't laugh at me. . So I tried to look some place in east village or west village. But I was told that these areas are crowded with artists and hippies. I am not that cool person. So I turn my eyes to the area within 30 minutes travel.

Who can help me to know the following area: Chelsea, Astoria, Hoboken.

Chelsea: I found two place. one is in 58th street, another one is in 15th street. which location do you think is better. "Better" mean safe, clean and quiet. I don't care restaurants, bars, and grocery stores. I do care safety of night-walk and trees around the road.

Astoria: I found a place near Astoria Park. I've never been in Astoria. Is the area near the park nice? Again, safe? quiet? not crowded? I used to visit a friend in Elmhurst where I really don't like. Too many people around the street.